Tarot Reading for 2017…here we go…

It is with trepidation that I start this post and reading.  Ever since my last post, I’ve started doing some contemplation on what my expectations for 2017 will be, and to me, the response I get from my Guides and Gods is that the whole year will be summed up in one sentence, “Put your money where your mouth is.”

Whereas 2016 was a year of work and action, this year feels to me like it will be one of having to now stand up for what it is you believe in; it is a time to reach out of the comfort zones that we have created and make the change that is so necessary to start putting into action that which we think and dream about.

But I get ahead of myself.  I haven’t even pulled the cards yet.  This is only what I THINK will happen.

img_3782The deck that I am using this year will be the Steampunk Tarot.  It is from Llewellyn and is a more recent offering from that company.  I purchased it when another reader I was working with at an event told me about it and showed me her own.  The deck and I have had a bit of a rough start; it doesn’t act like my other decks, and isn’t as easygoing.  I find that to be refreshing, actually.  This deck wants to be handled a specific way, and I am more than willing to do so.

Instead of trying to get information for each month, I’m going to go by quarter (three month periods).  Trying to go into any more detail to me right now seems pointless; there are still many things that need to be sorted out, and many things could change by the second month of the year.  Therefore a general ‘feel’ of the year is what I am after, and doing quarterly snapshots in the spread seems the best way to do that.

One note about reversals – This particular deck was not created with reversals in mind.  In the “Steampunk Tarot Manual,” the author, Barbara Moore speaks to this.  She says that in her mind, the Tarot is a “complete and logical system….that lets my left brain relax so my right brain can connect with the images more easily.” She further explains that in her mind, the reversals were a ‘system’ that makes no rational sense and detracted from her ability to read the cards. (Steampunk Tarot Manual, page 30, Llewellyn Publications.) Going with that belief, I have read the cards upright.  However, before writing about the interpretation, I did check intuitively to see if I could feel any reverse meaning or issues.

The spread is 8 cards:  The top four ‘prime’ cards represent each quarter (Jan-Mar, Apr-Jun, Jul-Sep, Oct-Dec) while the cards underneath represent something that which must be dealt with before moving to the next quarter.  Alternatively, each card underneath could bring a blessing from that time period, I’m not certain.  We will see as we move along.

 

First Quarter – Queen of Pentacles prime card, The Wheel of Fortune, secondary card

img_3789The Queen of Pentacles came up reversed, and my intuitive sense says to read it that way (I put it upright in the picture so that those interested in the deck could see it more clearly).  This card speaks to more learning and work to be done on the gifts that we have worked on in 2016.  Yes, we have achieved learning new skills, bettering our situations (or found ourselves in new ones) and overcome a lot in 2016.  But we aren’t done with that work yet.   Things need to be honed in for the first quarter of 2017.

For those considering new year resolutions, you can’t just go out and start something and expect it to thrive. Sometimes planning is in order, and careful planning to boot.  Here the cards are saying that for those who wish to start a new study or better themselves, it’s time to figure out the specifics and stick to what it is you want to do.

The Wheel of Fortune card speaks very much to the prime card.  If you buckle down and do what it is you are yearning to do, you will be able to get through the quarter much easier. However, no matter what you do or do not do, we all need to expect the unexpected.  We may not have to plan for it (or some of us already have), nor may it really affect us unless we allow it to.  But I’m not ready to tell people to ‘hang on to the roller coaster’ yet.

When looking at the state of the world, especially in the United States, these two cards speak of doing that which we pledged to do.  Are the young that were enticed into the political process continuing their vow of working toward political change?  Are the people who pledged to write their representatives doing so?  Are people doing the volunteering they vowed?  Are they making choices to learn the new skill or reach out to others? There is a big difference from joining a Facebook group or talking about changing and actually taking time to do the things that may bring change.

 

Second Quarter – Knight of Swords prime card, The World, secondary cardimg_3790

As we head into the second quarter, the energy is all going to depend on what has or has not been accomplished in the first quarter.  Have we been the person who has been able to complete that which we set out to bring into our lives, or have the intentions of the new year fell aside by the beginning of February?  If we haven’t completed the endeavors that we wished, all is not lost.  The Knight brings the opportunity to strategize once more.  For those that have been able to bring the change they want in their lives, this card represents the ripples in the pond that are starting to form based on the changes that have become habits.  The pebble in the pond causes ripples that touch almost everything in the pond. Therefore an individual who changes will alter their community.  Get enough people to change and you can change a state, a country or even the world, which leads me to the next card.

The world tells me that we will see an end of a cycle in May or June.  Everything comes in its time; and it will be an ending of things, and beginnings of new ones.  The spiritual symbols in the cards tell me that this will be focused on spirituality.  It could mean a spiritual growth cycle is ending, and a new one begins.  But unfortunately I don’t get many more specifics than that.


Third Quarter – Nine of Pentacles prime card, Three of Swords, secondary card

img_3791

I find these two cards very refreshing when comparing the same time period from 2016.  July through September brought quite a bit of political craziness in 2016, and here we see two cards that are lower energy than the energy experienced in the same time frame the previous year.  However, I fear there is some caution that is needed still.

The Nine of Pentacles feels to me that it could be something we could celebrate, but not too much.  Yes, a new cycle has been completed, but there will always be another following quickly after.  We must continue to move forward; to stop would mean to go stagnant and allow muscles to atrophy and minds to become dull.  Enjoy the work that has been done, but there is still plenty of work to be done as the year is not yet over.

The three of swords is a warning to me of too much celebration.  Cogs in wheels could easily be broken, and something that simple can start everything that has been worked for to come crashing down.  Now seeing the previous cards speak to a new cycle, that may not be much at this point, but it is still a breakdown.  And if you are like me, you want to avoid those at all costs.

 

Fourth Quarter – Knight of Wands prime card, Temperance, secondary cardimg_3792

The Knight of Wands speaks to a lit passion.  Perhaps the Three of Swords warning is one that is taken too carefully and starts a hunt to root out that which could be our undoing in the third quarter.  Passion is a wonderful thing, but only when it is put to good use.  The previous presidential election results are a clear example of that; many people’s passions were aflame after the results, and while some of that was put to good use, much of it spilled over into countless situations of ‘us’ versus ‘them’ with violent consequences. Passion spurs many to root out those which do not look like ‘us’, for they may be against ‘us’.  Therefore we need to look to finding constructive things to channel those passions into.

Temperance is a very strong reminder to channel that passion, as it speaks to what will happen if we are able to do so.  At this point we have gone through a new year and have hopefully seen new spiritual and physical practices put into play.  We have grown wiser and stronger.  It’s time to put that knowledge to use here during the passionate last quarter of 2017.  Let the last quarter of 2016 be a warning on what passion can do.  Should passion ignite firestorms, let Temperance be the guide to the water hoses.  Let the strength and wisdom we have gained from the year give us the sight to know what the true action needs to be.

 

So looking at the spread, I think my first thought about 2017 is correct in some ways, but not in others.  Perhaps we aren’t going to see the horrible things that we expect after some of the things that have happen in 2016.  They will be a factor, but perhaps it is our own decisions and actions that will determine how much of a factor.  Have we learned our lessons, and have we grown, or have we not?

The biggest takeaway of this reading for me is that we cannot lose our heads over issues that we see happening in the world in 2017.  Instead we need to seek to learn about how we can fix those things.  According to this reading, we may not be done with the ‘big news’ that the last two quarters of 2016 brought us.  The first quarter may have it’s own problems.  But if we stick to logic and common sense as best we can, and continue to do things to strengthen our own lives, I believe that we will be able to grow in 2017 despite the issues in the world.

I’d love thoughts about this deck, the spread or the interpretation.  Thanks for reading.

 

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath, diviner and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good.

4 thoughts on “Tarot Reading for 2017…here we go…”

  1. At the very least it will be an interesting year! Will you follow up on the reading over the year, and evaluate your initial interpretation? I’d be curious to see it! Not being a tarot reader myself I’m afraid I can’t offer much insight, but your line of reasoning feels solid enough.

    And that is a beautiful deck! I’ve so far stuck with the runes myself for divination purposes but for a long time I’ve been tempted to learn the tarot as well – but I’ve been reluctant to start without a deck that really feels ‘right’. How did you pick your first?

    Like

    1. I can follow up – thanks for the idea! I picked my first deck – the Halloween tarot deck – because it just felt *right*. I saw it in the store, things clicked, and I thought “YES – that is the tarot for me.” So I purchased it. That was over 20 years ago and I still have and use the deck.

      If you don’t feel a deck calling to you, you can always start with the Rider Waite tarot. I would pick that up and a good book to go with it (or sometimes they sell them in sets). I would stay away from sets that say “Beginner” tarot as sometimes they simplify the deck significantly, which may not allow you to pick up on other symbols that may be in the cards.

      Another option, instead of the beginner book, is to pick up the Rider Waite tarot and the Tarot Coloring Book by Theresa Reed and Mary K. Greer. It’s a wonderful way to learn the tarot at your own pace and allow you to explore the imagery in the cards, which I think is the key component to any reading.

      Please let me know if you decide to learn and how you are doing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think a good book on the subject might be the way to start, yes! At least until I find a deck that speaks to me. I am semi familiar with the symbols and concepts at least, already as a child I was sneakily reading a book on tarot from my mother’s bookshelf… And I am highly familiar with symbolic interpretation overall, which I hope should help. x) Do you know of anywhere online where one can find especially interesting decks, by the way?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am sorry that I didn’t see this message until just now. llewellyn word wide (www.llewellyn.com) might be a good place to start, or US game systems (www.usgamesinc.com) is another place. US Games Systems is the place where I see a significant amount of decks. They also let you see some of the cards so you can get more of a feel for them.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

