Shielding is Optional?

pigpen_sketch_by_dcrisisbeta-d5d8fwf

This past weekend I attended my local pagan store’s monthly pagan discussion group. Every once in awhile we get a new person there that asks a bunch of questions, and this past event was no different.  This particular new person asked about what she can do to deal with all of the crazy emotions that she had been feeling over the past couple days.

I did try REALLY hard to not read her, but it was impossible.  Think about when you happen to glance over at someone who is using sign language to communicate and you happen to know the language.  You are going to pick up things that are being said no matter what you do.  That is how it was for me.  One glance and I immediately saw the problem she was having.  She worked in healthcare and was picking up the issues and emotions of the patients she was a caregiver for.  So once I had a turn to speak, I apologized to her for my very light read of her, told her what I saw, and very quickly talked about some simple grounding, centering and shielding techniques that might help her.  Others followed, speaking of other techniques.  She might have been overwhelmed by the amount of information she was getting, but I got the sense that those things were going to ‘internalize’ so that later on she would have some idea as to what it was she needed to do.

But then a very peculiar thing happened; something that I had never heard of before.  One of the local witches who runs a local lineaged coven spoke up.  He said that his tradition didn’t believe in shielding.  In his system, the theory is that if you are strong enough in your metaphysical hygiene, that shielding isn’t necessary.

Really?

Although I didn’t say it in the group discussion, I disagree.  And I have a great story involving this particular witch’s coven member to explain why.

A couple months back my husband wanted to go to the same discussion group, but I was flaring big time.  Fibromyalgia flare ups can be a combination of different things, and this particular flare up was one of the neurological nasty pain ones.  My arms and legs were full of that ‘bone’ pain, that type you get just before you are destined to get a horrendous case of the flu.  And on top of that bone pain, my aura was ballooning up around areas where I hurt, filling my energy fields with energy that I can only describe as looking like static on a TV screen.  When it gets to that point I cannot control it and it just hangs around me, stuck to my aura and body like glue.

We got to that particular function late, and the only other chair that was available was next to one of the members of that lineaged coven, whom I now know doesn’t practice shielding.  At the discussion break, I  mentioned to her that I was flaring, to which she replied that she already knew that because I was making her so nauseous by my sitting next to her.  I was shocked.  At this point I do want to note that this person is a doctor of Traditional Chinese Medicine and practices this art for a living.

Shielding is something that most people do naturally, but those in the healthcare industry should always consider doing more.  That is one reason why I’m so flabbergasted at this particular coven member.  As someone who has spent time working in hospitals and emergency rooms, I recognize how important this is.   Even if your shield is setting spell work in a lab coat, scrubs, or in a necklace or bracelet, to me it is key to getting ready everyday while working in the healthcare industry.  Massage therapist friends of mine who are also empathic / intuitive do cleansing and shielding between each patient, especially those who are going to do deep work on someone with a chronic illness.  If I didn’t keep up spiritual shields on my own person and my work space I would be feeling many emotions of those around me, and possibly getting ‘cross traffic’ from the hundreds of people that work at the business I do.

Now some might argue that I shouldn’t have been at that particular event if I was not in control of my own energy, and I do see the point, however, my energy was only directly impacting one particular person, and that was me.  I’ve worked with other empaths and energy workers to understand exactly how my energy interacts with others when I’m in this type of flare, and in each and every case a simple shield has stopped anyone else from indirectly being affected. Further, I was going to a public space for a group talk that had no intent of doing any other workings like casting a circle, spell work or raising energy.  Let’s face it, I can’t not live my life and hide in my home when I’m in pain or when my energy flares up.  And I’m absolutely certain that I will never be a big ‘threat’ to anyone’s energy fields when I’m in a flared up state!

Perhaps I am old fashioned; Maybe because I learned the basics so many years ago now that shielding is ‘out of date’.  But I fully disagree with the non-teaching of it.  At the very least, teach it to new students and let them decide for themselves if they need to practice it or not.  There is a lot of things out there that can cause issues to those of us who understand and work with energy on a daily basis, and me in a fibro flareup is the very least of those worries.  There are people that don’t do any cleansing or grounding; the equivalent of walking cartoon characters like Pigpen from the Peanuts comic strips.  I want have something up between me and all of that ‘dirt’!  Sure metaphysical hygiene is important, but with the many interactions everyone has with the public each and every day, I’ll take that extra barrier, thank you very much!

So what are your thoughts on this topic?  Am I old fashioned?  Or is shielding a key component to everyday living?

Photo from Deviant Art

 

 

 

 

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath, diviner and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good.

3 thoughts on “Shielding is Optional?”

  1. Ohhh boy!! Yes, I feel everyone should learn shielding and grounding. It is essential self-care, which kind of worries me that mental health professionals state they don’t believe in shielding. Personally, I know I am unable to help people to the full extent without taking care of myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m one of those massage therapists who’ve found they HAVE to shield. Or else weird things start happening. Like unexplained nausea and all over body pain and spasms. I also need it to keep centered for my tarot clients, and myself. Shielding goes along with mental and emotional health. It shouldn’t be dismissed so easily.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with both of you! My husband put it best when he compared not having shields to going into a contamination zone without protective gear. It just surprised me so that it was dismissed so easily. Thanks to the both of you for confirming what I was thinking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

