Tired

I don’t know what is wrong with the United States anymore.  Tragedy after tragedy happens and nothing changes.  And no matter how many times I try to engage someone – ANYONE – about this issue I get thrown into one camp or the other without anyone batting an eye.

I’m tired of it.

I’m tired of the fact that gun advocates have painted this as a ‘with us or against us’ scenario.

I’m tired of the fact that anytime there is any suggestion of reviewing or studying gun laws the NRA hits hard enough to scare people into the thought that ‘ALL’ guns are going to be taken by our government.

I’m tired of the fact that because of this fear that gun lobbies have put into the hearts and minds of some people that I know of people stockpiling guns because they believe that one day someone will try to take them away.

I’m tired of the fact that people on both sides of the issue can’t seem to compromise.  We shouldn’t be scared of having guns in our society, but we also shouldn’t be held hostage by them either.

I’m tired of trying to have a civil conversation with people about this and no one is willing to see anything but their side of the coin.

And while the deadlock goes on, more people die, and more hate spreads making it even more likely a bigger tragedy will happen again soon.

My thoughts and prayers are with all the victims of this horrible violence.  May the Gods carry them home and provide peace and comfort to their loved ones and provide strength and solace to the first responders.

 

 

 

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

1 thought on “Tired”

  1. This exact thing. I’ve tried to have conversations with relatives who are who adamantly pro-gun who, the moment I say there should be stricter regulations, start in with the “you want them to take our guns away!” No, no one said that. Regulation is not the same thing as getting rid of all guns. And you’re right, the continuous us against them back and forth only leads to more hate, more violence. On an interpersonal level the refusal to hear what the other person is saying corrodes relationships. I wish dialogue were more of a thing in this country, rather than snarling at each other like dogs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

