Becoming Stuck in “Things”

repeat_by_davespertine-d48b17a

One of the reasons why I’m not making post after post about Chronic Illness energy work is because I don’t want it to take over my blog.  There are a lot of other things that I think and feel, and I still want my place on the web to be about various things, not just one specific topic. Further, I have another non-spiritual blog that goes into my daily physical struggle with fibro.

I was thinking further on this during my daily walk.  And I realized that I was also stopping myself from identifying with that particular topic too much.  Overall, I think that is a good thing.

In his book “Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner” Scott Cunningham talked about this issue.  When relying on magical items, he suggested that some people might rely on them too heavily.   He asked what would happen if the magical item became lost, or was broken.  It was such a good point that even though I read the book many years ago, that thought has stuck with me.

Just like getting too attached to magical items is an issue, there are other things that could also make you ‘stuck’.  I’ve talked before about how I think there could be a bigger issue in the pagan community getting ‘stuck’ on labels and definitions, but what about energy?  Specifically, what about working with a specific type of energy over and over?  What about doing the same meditation without variation?   What about using the same spell technique?  Yes, repetition helps us learn, but trying to do the same thing repeatedly and expecting different results time after time should give you a good indication that something isn’t working out.

Something else to consider is what you identify with too strongly in the physical sense.  Although the fibromyalgia is a big part of my life, I work, run and lead as strong of a life as I can in spite of that.  I do my best to present ME, not the fibromyalgia.  I want to be known for who I am, what I can do, my strengths and my weaknesses.  I don’t want to be known as the person who has to measure everything she does or does not do by the illness that is in my life.  Sure I can talk about it, and yes, I share my physical experiences with fibromyalgia on my other blog, but there are many more wonderful things about me that are worthy of being highlighted.

Another, albeit more comical example of something that can be identified with to the extreme is on full display by another associate at my work.  He is a big LA Lakers fan.   His work space is littered with LA Lakers memorabilia, and he would wear LA Laker jerseys into work every day if it would pass our dress code policy. That in itself isn’t too out of the ordinary.  However, when the LA Lakers win or (especially!) lose, he takes things too far.  When they win any of their games, he is over-the-top happy the next day.  If they lose, he becomes very argumentative to the point of being written up for being downright abusive.  On those days, it’s best to just leave him alone because he is ready to pick a fight with anyone, even his own boss!  To that point, he identifies with his team a little too much.  I don’t think even the team members get as upset as he does about their loss.

One of the biggest things that Loki has helped to remind me is that the only thing that is truly constant in life is change.  Because of that, the things that might get us through one challenge might not be available to get us through another.  Things get lost, people who are there to support you might not be as available as you need them to be at that exact moment in time, and in the case of the LA Lakers fan, teams don’t always win.  It takes relying on your own ingenuity, your own strength and your own belief in yourself in order to get through the things that life offers us.

Photo from Deviant Art

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

Leave a Reply

