Beware of Psychic Imposters

IMG_0039-0During my work break I frequently check out NPR and CNN.  Today I was shocked to find out that CNN had done an investigative article on a psychic scam artist who was bilking people out of money much like some christian pastors have done (no, not ALL Christian Pastors –  I’m talking about the ones like those that John Oliver exposed – for more information, here’s the original you tube video)

This one really bugs me.  I spend some time each month doing intuitive tarot readings at my local pagan store, so I have a vested interest in this issue.   Yes, I understand that there is a large piece of society that still thinks Tarot is a fun game, and I’m OK with that.  In fact, I’ve frequently given readings at parties where most people did think it was all in fun.  But there are other people that truly believe (and truly receive) guidance from these readings.

Readings can be fun, be someone serious, or extremely serious.  When the spirits want to, they can cause laughing fits to the point where my client and I are both in tears.  They can also be so serious that it feels like all of the air was pulled out of the room.  I’ve had clients storm out of the store because they were so mad at seeing the same guidance over and over, and I’ve had some in tears because they have given a piece of information that the client desperately needed.

Overall, everyone that has gotten a reading from me has gotten something they needed out of it.  I give pricing at the beginning of the reading, and that price doesn’t waver, no matter how many questions they ask about the cards they see on the table.  I also have an extensive list of ethics that I hold myself to when I give readings.

In short, if you are planning on getting a reading from ANY psychic, albeit with runes, tarot, a crystal ball, palmistry, whatever:

  • Talk with the reader first, get the fees up front.  The fees shouldn’t change in the middle of a reading.  If they do, there is a problem.  
  • Ask how long they have been reading professionally.  Although not always a good indicator, this at least gives you a feel for who it is you are dealing with and how much confidence they have.
  • See if you can get some sort of referral from a past client.  If the reading is at a pagan store, talk to the store owner and get information about how the readers are selected.  After all – it’s the store’s reputation on the line as well!
  • If at any time you start feeling pressured to purchase more time or purchase a trinket or token, take that as a possible warning.  I also teach Reiki, but I refuse to set up Reiki classes while I am doing readings.  Instead, I give the client my number and have them call me later.  It allows the client to not feel pressured (they don’t have to call) and allows them time to think about whether or not the training is right for them.
  • If you don’t feel fully satisfied with a reading, don’t go back.  Seriously.  I would much rather you find someone that meets your needs better than I could.
  • Take over promising as a warning.  Sorry, as much as I would LOVE to give you those winning lottery numbers, or make you come into money in some form or fashion, that’s just not in my wheelhouse during a reading.  Readers should be honest in what they can and cannot do.
  • If you get uncomfortable answering the reader’s questions, or are uncomfortable at the probing the reader is doing, feel free to stop the reading.  Remember, this reading is for YOU.  If a client wants to tell me more about a situation after I’ve already confirmed the reading brings it up, that’s fine.  But if a client doesn’t want to go into detail about a medical issue, or a problem in a relationship, that is perfectly acceptable.

Most readers are very good at what they do, and like me, they have a passion for it.  But like many other things, psychic readings in any format are ripe with scams.  The noted points above will help keep you safe and allow your reading to have a better chance of being a positive experience.

If you ever have a question about etiquette during a reading or just want more information about my readings, feel free to ask!

 

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath, diviner and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good.

1 thought on “Beware of Psychic Imposters”

  1. What I like about this post is that you are not just pointing a finger at the various con artists out there – you are also reminding readers that clients have a responsibility in deciding where their time, their energy and ultimately their money gets directed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

