The Personal Flame – Inspired Writing

flame_by_equoris

“In each of us, there is a flame that exists.  This flame is your spirit, your very essence.  It is this flame that represents what you truly are.  When you do things that celebrate your individuality and uniqueness, you feed this flame.  When you do things that give other people power over you, you diminish this flame. 

In many individuals, that flame has been diminished to the point of being barely lit.  The flame has become a small ember that is constantly threatening to go out.  These are the people who are so wrapped up in others opinions, thoughts and desires that they forget to realize their own.  They have made themselves weak and willingly become slaves for others to use at their will. 

In other individuals, the flame burns very brightly.  It burns so brightly that it is in danger of burning others that come too close.  These are the people who are so concerned with themselves and their own individuality that they forsake others opinions, thoughts and desires.  Many times they judge others harshly, or just dismiss the other outright.  What these people fail to remember is that others individuality is just as powerful as their own, and they too are capable of being a strong, powerful being.

Each of us struggle between these two extremes within our lives.  It is our task to live within the two; constantly shifting our thoughts, desires and beliefs in order to walk the path of balance.  In balance, we express ourselves and become stronger, yet we also aid others who are also looking to be more than they are.  We empower each other to create beautiful relationships with each other and with the spirits of the earth, sky and the sea.

***

The above words are not fully my own.  They are something that came to me so strongly that I had to stop what I was doing during a busy work day and start writing them out.  I offer them here for others to find meaning in the lesson as I have.

Personally, I am one of those that had a demised flame.  It is only through work with the Gods and through my ancestry that I realized how I was not hearing my own voice, and thus letting my flame go out.  Now I have more of a stronger fire, but I recognize that more work needs to be done in order to get myself into proper balance.  That is part of my work this year.

 

Photo from Deviantart.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

1 thought on “The Personal Flame – Inspired Writing”

Leave a Reply

