Working on Stillness

IMG_1026I am lucky that my employer has a one mile walking trail around their property.  The trail cuts around the property, winds next to the wetlands bordering the property and through the office buildings.  When winter hits, some of the other associates and I find it more fun to walk the trail than the sidewalk down to the dead end road.

Today on my walk I recognized how beautiful the woods and wetland were.  Today was an extra special walk for me as I was able to walk alone.  That meant I also got to enjoy the quiet that this time of year brings.

IMG_1025The beauty and stillness make me understand how much this time of year is meant to be spent in reflection and self awareness.  Gone now is the old year, the hustle of the holidays, and now all that is left is the cold and the quiet.  Since returning to work and even though the bad head cold I am still getting over, I am trying to do just that; remember to regularly reflect on how I am feeling, how my body feels and be mentally present in my day to day tasks.

I guess one could think that the time spent in self awareness and reflection is also good to help you keep the New Years resolutions that you made, if you are into that type of thing.  For me, the reflection and awareness is helping to remind me of just how far I have come in my spiritual journey.  That awareness also reminds me of what I have left to do and it also stops me from pushing myself too far.   Finally, the reflection makes me thankful for the spiritual journey that I am on, for now I realize that the journey is bring me ever closer to who I am truly meant to be.

If you can, even if it is for a moment in these last weeks of January, try to take the time to reflect.  Think about where you were spiritually, and where you are today.  You may just have some unexpected realizations of your own.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath, diviner and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good.

Leave a Reply

