Practicing while you are sick

The first full week of 2016 has come and gone.  I had big plans made, And then they went without coming into fruition.  A severe head cold and acute sinusitis made short work of a majority of those plans.  I even missed time at work because of this, something I very rarely do.

The big plans included a significant ceremony for the new moon, and a jumble of other things that I wanted to do.  These things can be rescheduled, but I got the feeling that a bigger lesson was to be learned here.

When I got sick, I didn’t totally stop everything I was doing.  The first thing is to take care of yourself by getting enough rest, fluids, and things like that.  Then, I narrowed the scope of other things I wanted to do based on what I could and could not do.  So instead of doing the actual ceremony I went through the script I had written for it.   I re-opened up the conversation with my husband about some of the repercussions of said ceremony, and finally I spoke to some friends about the outcome of that discussion.  It turned out that some of that work was necessary.

And that brings up another thought.  Everything truly happens in its own time.  I had a feeling that the sickness I came down with also had something to do with my getting ready to become a caretaker of a pipe.  Even though I have set things in motion, the time for when things will start moving forward will happen when it’s right.  I shouldn’t push it, but instead just wait for it to happen.

There are times when I have been sick that I have wanted to shit down my spiritual side and just focus on getting rest.  That is necessary at times, but it is also necessary at times  for you to continue some sort of work, even if it is a quick conversation or two.  I recognize the wisdom in this more now, and will continue to strive for that in the future when these things come up.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath, diviner and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good.

Leave a Reply

