A role for Awakened Individuals

About ten years ago I tried to volunteer for a political campaign.  My first time at the headquarters, they put me at a phone to call people around the area to see how they would vote.  I was to then try to convince them to vote for my candidate.

First off, I hate trying to talk on the phone.  Second, give me time to compose a decent script or have me write something down, and I’m pretty good.  Trying to persuade someone on the fly, especially in the area I lived (which was very against the candidate I was helping), nope.

After struggling with it for about a half hour, the staff realized I was not much help in that position and had me stuff envelopes.  I was very happy to be moved.

This experience came to mind when I was reading two blog posts about pagans and activism.  In the first one, the writer said in his post that if a pagan is not casting spells to save the earth, volunteering at and attending activist movements that you weren’t worth much as a pagan.  In his mind, you have to be active in order to be worth it as a pagan.

The second post talked about passive activism.  It gave the definition of passive activism as when you send energy and meditate on world peace or other efforts.  The example this post had was how over a million schoolchildren came together in an Asian country all at the same time to meditate on peace.

In my mind, both posts had their merits (and their downfalls), but both posts were also right.  As in, one way was right for some people, and another way is right for others.

Much like my experience in the political campaign, we are all different and have different roles in life.  We also have different roles as awakened individuals.  Awakened individuals in my mind are the ones that are active in their worship of the Gods, who are aware of the energies around them and are actively trying to make a difference in the lives of themselves, people around them and for the Earth.  Awakened individuals could be Pagan, or Heathen, Polytheist, Animist, Pantheist, Monotheist, or something else entirely.

Awakened Individuals can be many different faiths and traditions, and so can their efforts to do what they can to empower their lives and the lives of those around them.  We are too different to be called to be one type of activist.  Some of us will absolutely fit the activism of the first post.  Some of us the second.  Me, I’m sort of in the middle.  I learned from my political volunteer experience that I am much more introverted than extroverted, but that doesn’t mean I cannot help some of these groups financially.  Meditation is something I try to do every day, so I do some of the passive activism as well.

The biggest thing that each of those blog posts had in common is that we should all be doing SOMETHING.  As an awakened individual, we have an obligation to do just that.  It doesn’t matter if you don’t feel comfortable on a phone, or have enough money, or don’t have a lot of time.  You can find something that will feel right to you, and that will allow you to do your part to make a difference.

I’d love to hear any ideas you might have.  Perhaps by sharing you might inspire someone else.

May you have a wonderful and peaceful end of week!

 

 

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

Leave a Reply

