Who wants to talk to me?

About 17 years ago I had dealings with the first pagan outside the teachings of Wicca.  That particular gentleman was Heathen.  We started discussing our practices, and was very startled at his reaction when I told him about the drawing down of the Gods done in some rituals.

It seems he had a beyond healthy (at least in my mind) fear of his Gods, particularly Odin.  In his belief, if we were in a Wiccan circle to call down the Norse Gods like that, he pretty much figured there would be hell to pay.  I did dismiss his fears, because at that point as a first degree, I felt comfortable enough to respect what it was that happened in circle and that I knew what my own boundaries were.

However, I did make a note of his fear.  There had to be some reason for it.

Through the years I have heard similar tales of fear, and again, mostly about Odin.  More recently I have come to know about the term ‘Godslave’ and met a couple of them who felt they were enslaved by (you guessed it) Odin.  Moreover, I heard stories from these Godslaves about how they were chosen, and forced to do Odin’s will.  I also have been doing a lot of reading about him and the other Norse Gods, and can now understand some of where that fear comes from.

Now that I am foraging a new path forward for myself, I even have some of that same fear as well, especially because I am not as familiar with the magical framework of that pantheon as I am with others.

So with all of this in mind, I bet you can imagine my surprise (and fear) when doing a monthly journey to honor and talk to Loki that I end up crossing paths with Odin.

From what I could understand, it seems his interest in me was peaked when I started doing regular work and giving offerings under Loki, Eir and Sigyn’s guidance.

I don’t feel like I can go into a lot of specifics at this point about what he had said.  To be honest, with as much as I have heard about his manipulative ways I don’t truly know if I want to even deal with him.  But I will say that I am still pretty shocked that he came to see me.  I tried giving offerings to him when I started my Norse work awhile ago and never felt a thing from him.  So I think him visiting me is a pretty big thing.

So right now I am just trying to take it in.  I left an offering for him to thank him for his visit, and have left my hand made runes next to the offering.  Perhaps I will ask him for aid in understanding them, perhaps I will just leave a second offering and let it go.  I am not certain about the concept of a Godslave, but it is absolutely NOT a path I wish to even consider.

For now, I also have an oath to fulfill with Loki.  However something tells me that when that oath is fulfilled, I will be seeing some more significant change in my life.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

7 thoughts on “Who wants to talk to me?”

  1. Generally, those who deal with Loki end up dealing with Odin as well (the two tend to go hand-in-hand). Odin and Loki are both patrons for me, and I don’t fear either of them. I won’t say that Odin isn’t a violent God – He’s a god of war, of course he’s violent – but I’ve never been unreasonably afraid of him.

    There are god-slaves, and I don’t really know how they happen, but I have a feeling that the people who end up being godslaves are those who don’t understand what it means to approach a god. Especially a god of Odin’s caliber.

    I was chosen by Odin – He is the one who pulled me on to the heathen path. When I realized who I was dealing with, I didn’t just calmly accept what was going on. I freaked out – it was the first time I’d ever had a god directly approach me. And I pretty much ran away from him for about six months, as I was trying to figure out what to do about it. Odin didn’t chase me down and force me to do his will by any stretch of the imagination.

    Once I got everything straightened out in my head and realized how difficult it would be to walk Odin’s path and everything that it would require, I accepted that calling and dedicated myself to him of my own free will. Odin’s path is a difficult one, frought with pain and difficulty, but there are no chains that tie me to Him except those of my own making. I knew, however, when I chose to dedicate myself to Odin, exactly what I was getting into.

    I’ve met one person who swore an oath to Odin and then did her best to get away from having to fulfill it – but she never properly broke the bond with Odin by discussing it with Him, just ran away. Because of that, Odin essentially stalked her for months, and, when she got someone to do a ritual to keep Him away, He started appearing to her friend (who had no ties with Odin at all) and insisting she do something about it. Odin doesn’t take broken oaths lightly.

    My personal theory on what turns someone from a dedicated follower of a God like Odin into a godslave is a lack of understanding of what Odin’s path entails Then, once that path is embarked upon, followers learn exactly how difficult it is, and they want out because they didn’t realize how hard it would actually be.

    I’ve been following Odin’s path for the last six years. And yes, at times, it can be incredibly frustrating and difficult to continue on because turning your eyes away from the horrors of the world around you becomes impossible. For those who aren’t used to seeing those horrors, the world can become a haunting place, and having your eyes opened to those horrors can cause nightmares and fear of the God who opened your eyes. Odin’s first lesson is that wisdom comes at a price, and that price is to see the world for what it actually is, and there are a lot of people who aren’t ready to see the world that way. They’d rather hang on to their illusions.

    For me, I grew up aware of the horrors of the world around me. My family was incredibly dysfunctional, and my mother was an alcoholic who terrorized all of us before she passed. Even though she did terrible things, there were still moments where she was a proper mother, and that disjointed view of a parent shattered my illusions about the world before I ever learned about paganism and way before Odin ever found me.

    I think Odin’s path requires a certain type of strength that only survivors can really display. Because while Odin may be a God of war, He is also a God of sacrifice – Odin essentially tortured himself to gain wisdom from Mimir’s well as well as to obtain the runes. There are no easy Gods to follow, not by any stretch of the imagination, but Odin’s path is one of the most difficult.

    Some people think that I talk about how difficult Odin’s path is to warn people away from it, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I talk about how difficult Odin’s path is because I believe that no one should enter into an agreement with anyone (especially a deity) without understanding exactly what that agreement entails. I guess the best way to put it is that I believe in reading the fine print. Things may look good on paper, but unless you notice the fine print at the bottom, you don’t know exactly what you’re letting yourself in for. And Odin’s path isn’t an easy one.

    That doesn’t mean it isn’t a rewarding one. While it may be impossible to turn away from the horrors of the world, it is also impossible to overlook the beauty of the world. Even in the worst situations imaginable, there is always some good to be found somewhere. Always a spark of humanity, always an ounce of beauty. And seeing those tiny pieces of beauty interwoven with terrible tragedies can be sad or it can be amazing – it all depends on your frame of reference. To me, seeing that there is a spark of humanity in everyone, even the most terrible of people, is humbling because it shows me that no one is ever completely lost. Everyone can find their way back to themselves, eventually, even if those paths take lifetimes for them to walk.

    And by walking Odin’s path, I’ve learned to appreciate and recognize all paths, even those I disagree with. Because one of Odin’s main teachings is that the only wisdom you should acknowledge is that of your own heart, and when people are dedicated fully to the path of their choosing, no matter what that path is, that dedication is beautiful.

    Odin’s path is beautiful, to me, because it requires a depth of self-knowledge that few other God-paths require. That, I think, is why so many people are afraid of Him. Because He requires that you know yourself first, and that means acknowledging the darkness within you as well as the light. Some people can’t handle their own darkness, and we all have darkness within us. But we also all have light. It’s in learning to accept both that we are able to fully learn who we are, and that is when the burden of Odin’s path becomes lighter. Because the hardest part of Odin’s path is acknowledging who you are, and self-knowledge can be a terrible burden.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for this, it definitely put things in respective, and gave me a lot to think about.

      I do think the God Slave thing is something that is telling about what they think about God. One that I know of in particular used to be a Catholic. There is a good possibility in my mind that psychologically they identify with that relationship better than one of a mentor/teacher/King/Queen/friend/confidant like I believe my relationship with divinity to be. But that is just my hypothesis, and in my mind as long as they are ok with it, it isn’t my right to tell them otherwise.

      It’s funny, my husband, as I am writing this, basically just told me I have always been on a path to Odin. He, a Shaman and Blacksmith, and whom made my set of runes, said he knew it the minute he made my runes last year. He said he just couldn’t tell me until I realized it for myself.

      Thanks again for sharing your story and insight.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As I am not specifically a follower of Odin (he is one of those I regularly honour and communicate with but I can not claim to be one of His) so I don’t feel qualified to say a whole lot here – I just felt the urge to comment on the whole godslave issue. When speaking of those it’s important to remember that a godslave does not have to be a person who is unwillingly forced into submission. While the word “slave” to many may hold terribly negative connotations it can also be an expression of willing submission. A so called godslave needs not be a victim, or someone trapped in a destructive interpretation of devotion, it can also be a person who willingly and knowingly has chosen that path. So I would be careful of assuming the godslave concept is necessarily a negative or destructive one! It really depends on that person’s individual relationship with his/her god.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your input, I appreciate it and the knowledge that some consider the term defined as willing submission. However when I was speaking of the term, I was using Galena Krasskova’s definition. She would consider the expression that you speak of as “God-Servant” and not “God-Slave”. She and the others that I know about speak somewhat regularly about having no choice in the matter of what Gods wish to work with them. Perhaps you are correct in that they do not see themselves as victims, but even in their own words they claim to not knowingly choose that path.

      Another note here, I unfortunately have known abuse of many kinds for quite a few years of my life. So I am also speaking from something that has shaped me throughout the years. To knowingly give someone else power over you in my book is always wrong, I don’t care if it is a God, another spirit, whatever. Perhaps that does cloud the judgement of what the term means in my eyes. I am also willing to cede the fact that as humans we cannot fully comprehend nor define what relationships we have with our Gods, and thus use terms that might not ‘fit’. That being said, the very acts by those that use the term that I read and am witness to still amounts to a type of relationship that I want no part of.

      I also want to reiterate that while I still do not understand why someone would want to do this, it’s up to them to decide what is best for them, and not me to tell them what to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I certainly would not say it is always willing submission, absolutely not, merely a possibility. Whether or not it is wrong to knowingly give a deity power over you to to that extent I could not say, I would however agree that it’s risky… and perhaps not entirely healthy, at least for some. And absolutely not something I’d wish for personally! My comment really just stems from the fact that the only godslave I personally have been in contact with (vaguely as it may have been) was in fact of the willing sort, before that I had not even encountered the concept at all!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. OK THIS IS THE POST I WAS SUPPOSED TO MAKE
    Is the godslave meme still a thing? [sigh] The back story, IIRC was towards the end of the last century Hela decided to kick start her own tradition. People she had been cultivating in the long term or answered her call and became involved with her project were experimenting with different and often decidedly left handed paths.
    One of these started with OTO as a base and mixed in elements of BDSM, adopting terms like Dom and Slave. At the time Hela, because she was starting her thing from scratch, needed a small number of parties she could use as her Jonah’s and push them hard as needed to get the nescesary work done, so playing the role of dominatrix suited her purposes just fine.
    So the methoods that were being worked out at Cauldron Farms caught the attention of Galina who came to vouch for thier effectiveness, which is how Odin came to be involved, and it is at this point Rokkatru, which is how Helas people defined themselves, started evolving in to the wider Northern tradition.
    I can’t speak for what Odin has been doing with the godslave thing since then, but Hela does not seem to be using it at all any more. It would seem to have been a limited resort she abadonned as soon as she felt she could do with out it. In Private conversation with her, or my UPG if you would rather describe it that way, she chose people for godslaves who were spiritually gifted but potentially self destructive, and needed strict guidance just as much for thier own benefit.
    Very few people were ever coercied this way. For a while they held a hugely disproportionate influence over the evolution of the Northern tradition simply because they were the ones doing most of the research and writing.
    The term godslave came to aquire its own mystique through this process, so some people are still attracted to the idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just approved the last post you made and I’ll leave the other half posts drafts – LOL – Gotta love WordPress.

      Thank you VERY MUCH for filling in the blanks on this one. Now things make a lot of sense.

      Raven Kaldera and Galena both speak to Godslaves in their books, and it is through people who devotes themselves heavily to their teachings that I first heard the term. It threw me for a loop, I must add, because it was through their books and discussion with their students that I first became aware of the connections I had to this Pantheon. I spent at least a year pushing back HARD because I didn’t want anything to do with some of the things that they speak of as (pardon the pun) gospel truth.

      I believe both of them still hold a significant influence over the evolution of the Northern Tradition. Not that I think it is an absolute horrid thing. They both still have great ideas, but now I realize that it is acceptable to let some of their die-hard beliefs go and not be considered by the Norse Gods to be some sort of heretic. Yeah, that sounds funny now, but coming out of one system of Magick / worship and going into another, (especially because of the fear that seemed to be deeply rooted as I spoke above) made for some trying times.

      I can fully see the rationale Hela had for it however. That makes sense to me, especially if it was explained why, and not a permanent thing. But I still have to shake my head over the whole concept.

      Thank you again for your comments!

      Like

Leave a Reply

