Giving Offerings to Deity

 In one of the rune readings that I received, I was told that I needed to start giving offerings.  I normally think of offerings as what I do in service to my Gods, but he suggested offerings of food specifically on my altar at least once a week.

Giving regular offerings is something that I have never gotten into a good practice with before.  I would start doing it, and then I would forget and the whole practice would be forgotten.

Now the runecaster suggested offerings for both my ancestors and for my Gods.  He suggested I start with the ancestors by giving a piece of raw meat once a week on an ancestral altar.  But to me that never felt right.  My ancestors are not animals, they are human beings.

This morning during meditation however, it was suggested to me that I start doing some sort of offering practice, but it seems that the deity I am currently working with wants it, and not my ancestors.

The problem is, what to give?

My husband and I are home brewers.  We have made mead, wine, ciders and lots of different types of ales over the years.  I think my first offering to Loki is going to be the red wine that my husband and I made and has been bottle aging.  It’s about 2 years old, so I think that would be fitting for him.

If anyone is willing to share what they offer their gods and ancestors, I would love to hear it as it may help me learn more about this practice.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

6 thoughts on “Giving Offerings to Deity”

  1. Hi there! Stumbled across your site and thought I’d offer some ideas. Admittedly I’ve been slipping on offerings of food and drink lately, but I think we make a mistake when we think of offerings strictly in those terms. We can also offer other things too. In my family, we play songs and movies for our Deities, and we invite Them on camping trips or even to rock shows and other things. The same principle can work for ancestors too. Did your ancestors have any favorite activities, like fishing or fixing cars or knitting big cable-knit sweaters? Well, maybe you can try inviting them along for such an activity. (I wrote a post where I discuss these ideas a bit more in depth, if you’d like to read it.) Either way, I’m not saying you shouldn’t offer food, but if you’re having trouble deciding on what kind of food to give, there are other options too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by! I do put out food for the ancestors I know about, but for the ones back in Germany, France and Ireland that came to the US years before I was born, that is harder for me. I think food is the first thing you think about, but I agree, doing things to honor them is also good. I like your idea about inviting them to places. Perhaps bringing along something that is connected to them somehow would be appropriate?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would think so – photos, trinkets, dogtags (if any of them were military), or even something personal like a gift they gave you or your parents. If none of those things are available, the next thing I’d recommend is something new that makes you think about them. Probably something handmade would be best, and you can keep it on your altar to gain their energy, then take it with you when you go on activities for them. It’s worth a try!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

