I am of the Blood

negative1I am of the mindset of composer Gustav Holst, who once said “Never Compose anything unless the not composing of it becomes a positive nuisance to you.”  This poem became a nuisance.  It came out the day before I was to be ritually tattooed to recognize all of the struggles that I had come through.  I made it through them, changed, but still moving.

Sometimes you just have to embrace the call of The Shadow and go howl with the wolves.

 

 

 

I am of the Blood
The Spirit gathers
I feel his presence like the calm before the storm.
It surrounds me in its silent wave
As It’s riptide pulls me under
I can only watch and say goodbye forever to the comfortable shore.

The Spirit arises
His hunger beckons
Tastes of power and strength fill my mouth
I smell the blood, sweet it is to my senses
Fear fills my head, yet there is no wish to turn back.
I feel it’s familiarity, dare I welcome it?

The Spirit howls
I stir, aching longingly for the hunt
A lost love’s touch found, a gentle whisper in my ear
Will you accept the gifts I give?
Tears fill my eyes as I answer
It is time to come home.

The Spirit claims
Forever changed as the Spirit meets my soul
Part of The Pack I become
His teeth forever in my skin
Now, never alone
We are joined as one.

 

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

Leave a Reply

