Personal Development

Recently I saw an interesting blog post about someone discussing their beliefs on relationships with Deity.  The post talked about about how Deities didn’t care about your personal life, your shortcomings and your personal development.  Instead, they were only worried about what you could do for them.

I tend to disagree.  Well,  kind of.

There are different facets in almost every human relationship.  A coworker is someone you work with.  But if you are like me you also have coworkers that are closer than others, and you might have other conversations with them besides just talking about work.

School relationships are the same way.  You may have classmates that you hang out with outside of the classroom, therefore making the relationship multifaceted.  Even relationships with teachers can be multifaceted.  For example my martial arts instructor and I have become good friends.  I have helped her on her farm, we do yoga and frequently run together.  But in the dojang, she is still the instructor and I am her student.

In my belief, the same multifaceted relationships can be held with divinity.  Now you might not ‘hang out’ with them as you would a close friend, but I believe they can be teachers, confidants, and taskmasters.  They can also be invested in your wellbeing and this push you to deal with baggage, your physical problems and other sects of personal development.

In my practice, the Gods are very much involved in my personal development. There is a big reason for this.  I have chronic pain and fatigue and the winter is always very hard on me.  It is imperative that I keep moving in order to deal with the pain and fatigue the cold brings.  Therefore I am being pushed to keep moving, keep working and keep exercising.   By doing these tasks, I help myself, but also honor them.

By worshipping the Gods we enter a contract with them.  These contracts mean multifaceted relationships can be developed.  It may be a relationship of devotion, of personal development or of service.  But above all, I am of the belief that no matter the type of relationship we get out of it what we out into it.  Every relationship takes work, including those with Divinity.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath, diviner and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good.

Leave a Reply

