Be careful what you ask about…

 Every month I spend a couple hours giving readings at a local pagan shop.  This is something that is very enjoyable for me.  Not only do I feel I help others, I feel like with each reading I also learn something new about myself.

I am always amazed at some of the people that come in for readings.  Of course I get many of the general questions from clients; relationship stuff, finding mister/miss right, when they are going to come into money, stuff like that.  But there are also many times I get someone that has something going on in their life and are trying to hear a different answer than what they are getting.

One mundane example was when a woman came to me who was trying to decide whether or not to leave her husband.  The husband had been sleeping with the woman’s best friend for several years, and he and the best friend had been open about it.  This continued to occur even though the marriage was supposed to be monogamous.  The cards told me this woman was being stepped on and put through hell, and I told her so.  But even though she confirmed what the cards said and shared stories of things she had gone through with me, by the end of the reading she was of the mindset that she just didn’t have enough information to make the decision, and thus was going to consult with other readers.

Basically, she didn’t like what she was hearing.

This happens a lot.  One tarot deck I have has a very ‘no holds barred’ style to it.  I had a client ask specifically for that deck to be used in her reading.  By the end of the session she was so mad that she could barely speak.  I don’t know if it was at me or at the friend sitting next to her saying “I told you so!” throughout the reading.  Yet again, the client was getting the answers she needed to hear and act on, but since they were not the ones she wanted, she got mad instead of listening.

There could be many reasons for this.  Many times a reading will pull out details that make people uncomfortable, or the answers to the questions that are asked will push the querent into a situation that is outside of their comfort zone.  But what the querent has to realize is that the answers and information is there for a reason.  The Gods are asking you to grow, or else you wouldn’t be in the situation in the first place.  It is our nature on this planet to deal with these scenarios over and over again in order to transcend the problem.  We must grow and push ourselves through these issues, for if we do not, we become stagnant and wither.

I know acting on things isn’t easy.  And at least for me, sometimes I have to be put in the situation several times before I fully grasp what it is I have to learn.  That is ok.  We wouldn’t be human if we got things right 100% of the time. And it’s OK to be upset about answers that aren’t what you want them to be.  Just don’t get mad at the messenger.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

2 thoughts on “Be careful what you ask about…”

  1. This is a great post. I got an answer I didn’t want today (or wasn’t expecting at all, really). My deck decided to stop playing all nicey nice and tell me flat out my friend was not good for me, to stop wanting him back as a friend, and I was deluding myself thinking he was a good friend to begin with lol! I just sat there like I saw a ghost O_o

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

