Hearing the Voices, Seeing the Spirit, Feeling the Heart

mansfield reformatory
Never open your gifts in a spooky prison.

One of my old teachers calls metaphysical gifts blessings and curses.  I tend to agree, especially when it comes to hearing, seeing and feeling things that others cannot.

I’ve known that I’ve had these gifts since I was a child.  I would always have experiences that others didn’t.  However it wasn’t until my college years that I actually understood what was happening, why, and how to control them.

I seem to have three distinct gifts when it comes to seeing, hearing and feeling things.  The first is mediumship.  It’s not one I am particularly fond of, and thus is one I try to use rarely.  Most of the time I effectivity shield myself from things, but there are those times where it comes through the shields whether or not I want it to.  Those times are usually when someone around me has passed on in some way.

Depending on the case and the circumstances, I can also at times see the spirits of the dead.  For example, one time an associate that I worked with had a heart attack in our office.  The first responders started working on him until the paramedics arrived, and then they continued.  Fifteen minutes into the paramedics work I could have told them that it wasn’t going to help because I watched the associate ‘stand up’, look at me, wave, and walk away.  He indeed passed away that day.  That was a very trying time for me.  I mean, what could I have done – looked at the medics and tell them “ah, you can stop now, he just started crossing over…”?

One thing to never do if you have this gift NEVER drop shields in an area that is considered haunted unless you want lots of input from the area around you.  I was stupid enough to do so in a haunted prison during a nightly ghost hunt.  The resulting headache lasted for days.

The second gift is hearing the Gods and spirits of this earth.  I am told that there is a term for this in some traditions called a “Godphone”.  From the research I’ve done on the web about the origins and use of this term, it seems pretty controversial.  The origins, as I see it, was from looking at an older phone/landline and discussing how some people have a gift of that type of line to divinity.  The thing is, sometimes you get busy signals, sometimes calls don’t go through, or you have bad reception.  The whole analogy does fit, although I don’t know if I really like the term.

It works for me sort of like this – when it comes to hearing from spirits, Gods, Goddesses and the like, it’s really all up to them.  I don’t get much of a say.  Sometimes they are in my head until I do or say whatever it is that they need, sometimes I can put my foot down and tell them not right now, and if they so choose to heed me, I am allowed a break.  However lately, I’ve been welcoming this more in my life.  It helps to have guidance, especially on these new endeavors that I have been attempting.

Finally, I put the gift of empathy in under hearing, but this is also a gift of feeling.  And again, this is a gift that I have known I have had for a very long time.  I also recognize that there is an ancestral tone to this gift.  My niece and sister also have the gift.  My sister chooses not to handle it in a metaphysical way, however my niece, her daughter, is having all sorts of fits with it, and I try to help her when I can.

The big negative with empathy is that you can easily mirror the malady that you are feeling.  If someone is angry, you feel afraid.  If someone is hurt, you feel the hurt.  If someone is having an anxiety attack, then guess what you could have.  You have to have a strong sense of self in order to properly work with this gift.

All of these gifts are significant, and I am happy to have them, but learning to work with them has been a significant amount of trial and error, doubt, fear and strife.  There is also a lot of doubt that goes into these.  That’s where validation from others and teaching can help.  I was lucky to find metaphysical teachers in my college years that had the same gifts as I did, and thus I received training from them in how to use these.  But even with that training I found that my doubt clouded my judgement, which meant I didn’t use these gifts to my (and the Gods) full advantage. I think that’s one thing this post is about actually.  Twenty five years a pagan and this is the first time I’ve ever come out publically and said “Hey, this is everything I got.” I think it’s part of the shaking of the bones that I talked about in my last post.  This is who I am.  It’s time I embrace it, put it out there, and fully accept everything about it.

Author: Karlesha

I am a martial artist, historical fencer, yogi, runner, intuitive / empath and pagan. My passion is learning about myself, where I fit in the world and where I can do the most good. I am dedicated to Loki and Odin.

Leave a Reply

